Balanced, Swedish, Fall Eating

Lately, my palate craves recipes that would allow me to experiment with seasonal flavors and reconnect with my Swedish roots.

I hunted around online for a dish that would suit the fall season and would be linked to my culture. Articles everywhere featured all kinds of autumn-inspired ingredients with rosemary, chili powder, carrots, apples, pumpkin, cinnamon and more. When I typed in “Swedish fall dishes,” I was excited to find something simple.

The recipe appeared on my scroll, introducing me to the history of Hasselback potatoes, a dish that dates back to the 17th century at a tavern in Stockholm that is now a high-end restaurant in a hotel.

Side note: this is one place I would love to visit someday! If not the restaurant, then definitely Stockholm.

I couldn’t help but to feel warm and fuzzy inside, remembering the story my mother told me about my great grandmother, Christine, which is my middle name. As the story goes, Christine traveled from Sweden to the United States through Ellis Island in New York City and then to Chicago where she married my great grandfather who also traveled from Sweden. My family and I know their travels to be true, because we visited Ellis Island when I was younger and found documents of their arrival.

My family history has inspired me to try out the Hasselback potatoes, but because I like to maintain a somewhat healthy eating regiment, I put my own spin on them with the ingredients below.

According to the recipe, Hasselbacks are traditionally baked with butter and breadcrumbs, but I decided to replace the butter with extra virgin olive oil and left out the breadcrumbs altogether. The recipe also called for using an oven to bake the potatoes, but because our oven is currently under repair, I used the stove to saute them and it worked just as well.

Give it a shot and let me know what you think!

Connecting with my family history has been one part of my journey towards optimum living and wellness. There is nothing more satisfying than sharing a piece of my family history with others, and what better place to do that than at the dinner table?

Leave a comment:

Do you have any traditional family dishes you enjoy making? What fall flavors do you incorporate into your cooking? What healthier options do you turn to in the kitchen when your culture is notorious for its sweets, carbs and wine?!    


 

Amanda’s Autumn Swedish Chili Potatoes

Servings: 4

Preparation: 5 minutes

Cooking: 55 minutes

Total: 60 minutes

 

-1 tsp chili powder

-4 potatoes

-1 tsp salt

-1 tsp pepper

-1 tsp rosemary

-2 crushed garlic cloves

-extra virgin olive oil (or coconut oil)

-4 carrots

-bacon bits (eyeball amount)

-(option to add meat of your choice; sliced pineapple and bacon flavored sausage links work really well)

Rinse and peel potatoes and carrots; slice into thin, round discs. Place potatoes and carrots into a bowl. Heat and coat oil in a large skillet. Top and mix all other ingredients with potatoes and carrots. Place potatoes and carrots (and any added meat) into skillet, mix all ingredients with oil, and let simmer for 45 minutes. Continue stirring to avoid the potatoes from burning and sticking to the pan. Potatoes and carrots should be slightly mushy, but firm.

Serve and smaklig spis!

Leave a Reply

