Boxed In: Part 7

Present day…

“I don’t know where we are, to be honest with you,” Jasmine admitted.

The Ref narrowed his skeptic green eyes and glanced toward Jordan who returned the look with a shrug, pushing herself away from the tree and kicking a branch off her boot.

“What kind of Scribe are you?” he jabbed. “I thought you crazies knew how to use your powers.”

Jordan chuckled. Jasmine’s cheeks reddened in embarrassment.

“I’m still working out the kinks, alright? Now, can we please focus? I don’t remember how I ended up in that Box with a Soldier and a crowd of monsters,” Jasmine said, throwing her hands up in frustration.

Her ribs and neck still ached from Jordan throwing her down on the ground.

Why can’t I remember anything before the Box? 

“If you think I have all of the answers to your problems, you’re wrong,” Jordan stated bluntly. “You were an assignment, and technically, you’re still an assignment. Just be glad that I haven’t taken you down… yet.”

Jasmine sighed and slowly wandered about the wooded opening, observing the deep forest. Nothing appeared familiar. She couldn’t tell how far she took them away from the arena which also frightened her.

They’re coming for me. 

“We can’t stay here,” Jasmine spoke up.

“No, really?” said the Ref.

“Okay, Mr. Sarcastic. Keep pissing me off, or I’ll-”

“It’s Shane,” he interrupted. “And go ahead, Scribe. Do your worst. It’s not like you can take me to a worse place than here, anyway.”

“Then why do you want to go back to the Box so badly?” Jordan inquired.

Shane looked down at his feet, clutching the blood-stained sleeve.

“Because I have nowhere else to go,” he confessed coldly. “No home. No family. Nothin’.”

This caught Jasmine’s attention, and mellowed her anger.

“What happened?” Jasmine asked cautiously.

“Dawn. That’s what happened.”


 

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

